Making Friends by Kristen Gudsnuk


       Making Friends by Kristen Gudsnuk. Scholastic Graphix, 2018. 9781338139211

Format: ARC

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre:  Graphic novel fantasy

What did you like about the book? For Danny, 7th grade is full of inscrutable social rules. Nothing feels as fun and effortless as 6th grade. When she is able to conjure a new best friend magically from a deceased great aunt’s sketchbook, life seems to improve. But then her new best friend has needs too. I love the mashup of real middle grade angst with nerdy fandom and cosplay. Nerds, geeks, punks, goths, family dysfunction, also come into play. Clever and relatable. Artwork, unfinished in this ARC, is engaging and active, and echoes Raina Telgemeier’s expressive characters.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Fans of Chmakova and Telgemeier may enjoy this.

Who should buy this book?Elementary and middle school and public libraries

Where would you shelve it ? Children’s graphic novels

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Stephanie Tournas, Robbins Library, Arlington, MA

Date of review: May 13, 2018

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review, Fantasy, Graphic novel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s