Miss Mayhem (A Rebel Belle Novel) by Rachel Hawkins

 51adwb23TtLMiss Mayhem (A Rebel Belle Novel) by Rachel Hawkins. G. P. Putnam’s Sons, (978-0399256943), 2015.

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 3

Genre:  Fantasy

What did you like about the book? Sequel to Rebel Belle. Supernatural thrills in a high school Southern debutante setting. Harper Price is adjusting to life with her new boyfie/oracle when her magical responsibilities take a daunting new turn. Lots of casual teen patois.

Anything you didn’t like about it? 

To whom would you recommend this book?  Grade 6 and up. Appeal to kids who like light girly supernatural romance.

Who should buy this book? Teen collections

Where would you shelve it ? Teen fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? no, not unless you love her Hex Hall series

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Stephanie Tournas, Robbins Library, Arlington, MA

Date of review: May 19, 2015

Posted in Book Review | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Baby-Sitters Club: Kristy’s great idea, a graphic novel by Raina Telgemeier, based on the novel by Ann M. Martin

 51rhtU3XMiL The Baby-Sitters Club: Kristy’s Great Idea, a graphic novel by Raina Telgemeier, based on the novel by Ann M. Martin, Graphix, (978-0545813877), 2015.

2006, 2015

 

Format: Uncorrected proof/Paperback.

Rating: 1- 5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre: Graphic novel

What did you like about the book?     Raina Telgemeier has updated The baby-Sitter Club series in a graphic format. The full color illustrations are very similar to those in her original works Smile and Sisters. Both new readers to the series and fans of the original novels will enjoy this new format. The story remains the same, but the illustrations really add lots of expression, humor and fun. The bright colors will catch the readers’s eye and draw them into the story. A new way to enjoy a popular series.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No.

To whom would you recommend this book? Fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile and Sisters, will love this new series. Fans of the original Baby-Sitters Club series will enjoy this new graphic take on the books.

Who should buy this book? Public Libraries, elementary and middle school libraries.

Where would you shelf it? Graphic novels

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles? Yes, if you loved the original Ann M. Martin books and/or Raina Telgemeier’s graphics.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review: 5/15/15

 

Posted in Book Review | Tagged | Leave a comment

Denton Little’s Death Date – Lance Rubin

 51+pPBSHilL  Denton Little’s Death Date – Lance Rubin, Alfred A. Knopf, (978-0553496963), 2015

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre: Science fiction

What did you like about the book?  This novel is a perfect mix of sci-fi, adventure and humor. Denton Little lives in a world where almost everyone knows the exact date of their death. Unfortunately for Denton, his death date is during senior year of high school. Denton has come to terms with this and has tried to live his life as normal as possible. His best friend Pablo is also an Early, those destined to die young. The book begins the day before Denton’s funeral, which takes place the day before one’s death date. Denton wakes up hung over in Pablo’s sister’s bed and then things get very strange. Denton receives a strange email from someone named Happy Dinosaur and is approached by a stranger who warns him to be careful of the government. Filled with wry humor and mixed with adventure and government conspiracies this one should appeal to teens. There will be a sequel.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book?  Fans of John Green will enjoy the humor in the face of death. Attending one’s own funeral brings to mind the classic Huckleberry Finn. Although this is classified as sci-fi, it is more grounded in the real world than most.

Who should buy this book? Public libraries and high school libraries

Where would you shelf it? YA fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles? Yes!

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review: 5/17/15

 

Posted in Book Review | Tagged | Leave a comment

What’s Your Favorite Animal? – Eric Carle and Friends

   51Ksh7roEuL  What’s Your Favorite Animal? – Eric Carle and Friends – Henry Holt and Company, (9781627793032), 2015.

Format: Boardbook

Rating: 5

What did you like about the book? Many popular illustrators (Nick Bruel, Rosemary Wells, Steven Kellogg, Lane Smith and more) provide us with their depiction of their favorite animal along with a short accompanying text.

What didn’t you like about this book? N/A

To whom would you recommend this book?  Recommend this one to very young children as a lap-sit story time or one-on-one at home.

Who should buy this book? Public libraries and child-care centers

Where would you shelve it and why? Boardbooks

Should we (librarians/Readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Katrina Yurenka, Gardner High School, Gardner, MA

Date of review: 5/19/2015

                    

Posted in *Starred Review, Book Review | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Luna & Me: The True Story of a Girl Who Lived in a Tree to Save a Forest – Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw

3496467 Luna & Me: The True Story of a Girl Who Lived in a Tree to Save a Forest – Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw, Henry Holt and Company, (9780805099768), 2015

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 5++

Genre: Non-fiction 300s, 500s, biography –

What did you like about the book? This story is about just how much change one person may bring about through true dedication. Julia Butterfly Hill is a real person who lived up in a redwood tree, Luna, that she fell in love with for two years. Kostecki-Shaw not only tells the story of Julia and Luna in a magical manner but accompanies it with soft-hued mixed-media illustrations that contribute to the overall beauty of the scene and the person.

What didn’t you like about this book? Nothing at all.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Though technically non-fiction, this would make an excellent read-aloud. Pair it with Redwoods by Jason Chin.

Who should buy this book? All public and school libraries

Where would you shelve it and why? Juvenile 333.75 but if it gets lost in there, put it on display or change it to Biography or Picture book; it NEEDS to be read.

Should we (librarians/Readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes!

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Katrina Yurenka, Gardner High School, Gardner, MA

Date of review: 5/19/2015

                    

Posted in *Starred Review, Book Review | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Redwoods – Jason Chin

 1028595  Redwoods – Jason Chin, Square Fish, (9781250062697), 2015

Format: Paperback

Rating: 5++

What did you like about the book? The overall effect here is of fact, not fiction, as a young boy explores all the facts he finds about redwoods in an abandoned book.

But as fiction, it would work as a great read-aloud, truth being stranger, etc. The artwork is engaging and perfectly matched to the amazing facts that the boy learns about these extraordinary trees.

What didn’t you like about this book? Absolutely nothing to dislike.

To whom would you recommend this book? Everyone.

Who should buy this book? All public libraries and all school libraries.

Where would you shelve it and why? Picture books

Should we (librarians/Readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes!

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Katrina Yurenka, Gardner High School, Gardner, MA

Date of review: 5/19/2015

                    

Posted in *Starred Review, Book Review | Tagged | Leave a comment

On the Edge by Allison Van Diepen

51i-2iFrS+L      On the Edge by Allison Van Diepen, HarperTeen, (978-0062303448), 2014

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 4

Genre: Realistic Fiction

What did you like about the book? I thought going in to it that this would just be another YA romance but was happily surprised.  Maddie Diaz takes a shortcut home and ends up seeing a few local gang boys attack a homeless man.  When he dies and she volunteers information to the police, she knows there’s a target as good as painted on her.  But not all the boys in town are Bad and the mysterious Lobo, leader of a rival gang, swears to protect her…

A bit of high school teen relationship drama, a lot of steamy sexual tension, and well-done flawed but likeable characters made this one I couldn’t put down after chapter 2.  Maddie is no softie and when she’s drawn into the underbelly of local gang issues she holds her own and the romance woven into the story is believable and sizzles on the page.

Anything you didn’t like about it? Chapter 1 is a bit slow but by the end of Chapter 2 readers will be very hooked as the story moves beyond simply a YA romance and into darker realms.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Readers who enjoy Simone Elkeles’ stories which weave YA teen love/lust with tough choices and violence bubbling under the surface will love delving into Allison Van Diepen’s story.

Who should buy this book? High Schools, Public Libraries

Where would you shelve it?  YA Realistic Fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: April Duclos, Hudson Public Library, Hudson, MA

Date of review: 5/18/15
Posted in Book Review | Tagged | Leave a comment