Into the Glades by Laura Sebastian


Into The Glades by Laura Sebastian. Delacorte Press, 2022. 9780593429587 

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Format: Hardcover

Genre:  Fantasy

What did you like about the book? Larkin and Cordelia grew up together.  They support one another despite Larkin’s inability to do magic, even when tragedy strikes Cordelia’s family.  As their lives get more intricate and stressful, they (with the help of their brothers Zephyr and Dash) embark on a journey to make sense out of the confusion.  Readers will relate to the main characters as they deal with siblings and hope they can fulfill family expectations. Secondary characters are not as well fleshed out but do add dimension to the story.  With its Florida-like setting, this tale has taken the mundane and turned it magical. Easy to read chapters and engaging text will keep readers turning pages of this whimsical adventure. 

Anything you didn’t like about it? Some elements of the story do not fit together, for example, Larkin talks about Cordelia not wanting for anything, yet the text does not support this.  The ending is very predictable, something younger readers may enjoy.

To whom would you recommend this book? Readers in grades 3 to 7 who enjoy coming of age books set in magical places would like this title.  Fans of Horns and Wrinkles may enjoy this title as well.

Who should buy this book? This would be a good purchase for upper elementary and middle schools or public libraries that cannot get enough novels based on magic and adventure.

Where would you shelve it? Fantasy/adventure

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? I feel that this title would reside near the top of the “to read” pile.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Elena Schuck, Nathaniel H. Wixon School Library, Dennis, Massachusetts

Date of review: November 20, 2022

This entry was posted in *Book Review, Author, Family, Fantasy, Laura Sebastian, Magic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.