Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong by Prudence Shen and Faith Erin Hicks


Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong by Prudence Shen and Faith Erin Hicks, Colors by Alison Acton, First Second, 2022. 9781250779618 

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

Format: Paperback graphic novel

Genre: Realistic fiction/Humor

What did you like about the book? What happens when the cheerleaders want new uniforms and the science team needs money to attend the Robotics Competition- and the principal says she will let the student council decide who gets the money?  Here’s what happens: Head cheerleader Holly decides that her ex-boyfriend Charles, Captain of the basketball team, should run for student body president against Nate, president of the Robotics club (his parents let the group work in their basement). Charles does not really care about any of it but that doesn’t matter because Holly does!  All manner of in-fighting occurs as the competition becomes so ugly that the principal says enough is enough, neither group will get the money!  So what now?  They must join forces.  The Robotics Club will enter their amazing robot in the Robot Rumble (if Holly will provide seed money) where the top prize is $10,000, a win-win for all!  The story is hilarious and fast-moving.  Shen’s snappy, spot-on dialog complements Hicks’ full-color illustrations, (drawn with blue Col-erase pencils on Bristol paper and inked with a Raphael Kolinsky watercolor brush, and colored in Photoshop), with facial expressions that are nothing short of brilliant. While Nate is white, Charles is brown-skinned along with a member of the Robotics club; cheerleaders are brown, black and white-skinned.

Anything you did not like about the book?  No.

To whom would you recommend this book? It’s hard to imagine being able to resist the humor of this story enhanced with such consummate illustrations.  Fans of Hicks and Shen will not be disappointed.

Who should buy this book? High school and public libraries

Where would you shelve it? YA graphic novels

Should we (librarians) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Katrina Yurenka, Retired Librarian, Contributor, Youth Services Book Review

Date of Review:  June 26, 2022

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Starred Review, *Young Adult, Faith Erin Hicks, Graphic novel, Humor, Prudence Shen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.