Have You Seen Gordon?  by Adam Jay Epstein, illustrated by Ruth Chan


Have You Seen Gordon?  by Adam Jay Epstein, illustrated by Ruth Chan. Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2021. 9781534477360

Rating: 1- 5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 5

Format:  Hardcover 

Genre: Picture book

What did you like about the book?   Readers will laugh out loud at this take off on the popular search and find books.  The book begins with the narrator asking the reader to find Gordon, a purple tapir in a Hawaiian shirt, on the beach, in the city and at the amusement park.  The problem is that Martin doesn’t want to blend in as we can clearly see him in a clearing at the farmer’s market and on a float in a parade. The narrator is frustrated, but Gordon says, “The thing is…I don’t want to hide anymore.  I’m proud of who I am.  From now on I want to stand out.”  So the narrator decides to randomly find someone else to hide and choses Jane, a blue hippo who is a construction worker. But Jane is shy and doesn’t want to be the star of a book, so she slips away.  The narrator then leads readers on a chase through the pages to find Jane.  Finally, Gordon suggests that the narrator ask who wants to be found.  The final double page spreads are filled with characters to find.  The final page finally catches up to Jane who is enjoying a remote beach with Gordon.  The bright detail-filled digital illustrations add to the hilarity of the story with pages filled with expressive anthropomorphic animals.  This is a book that will be read over and over again!

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book?  This is a fun choice for readers of Martin Handford’s Where’s Waldo series or Jean Marzollo’s I Spy books. 

Who should buy this book?  Public libraries and elementary school libraries

Where would you shelve it? Picture books

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles?  Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City:  Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review:   October 29, 2021         

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Picture Book, *Starred Review, Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.