Kitten Campout by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen


Kitten Campout (Purrmaids: #9) by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen, Random House, 9780593301630, 2021

Format: Paperback

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

What did you like about the book: This is an adorable black and white illustrated chapter book series.  Purrmaids are part kitten and part mermaid.  The three best friends, Coral, Shelly, and Angel are excited for their first school sleepover at Camp Sandcrab.  Here they get to camp out with a campfire, sleep under the stars, and see a meteor shower.  Shelly and Coral are bunk mates but Angel feels left out and is paired up with Cascade in the Catfish Club.  She has been annoying her and she is not happy.  Cascade befriends Angel when looking for shooting stars and things take a paw-sitive turn that leads to Angel and Cascade becoming friends and having fun together.

The back pages include a sneak peek into the author’s other series, Mermicorn: Sparkle Magic.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book?  A great early chapter book for elementary students who enjoy cats and magic.  Fans of Magic Kitten, Unicorn Academy and Fairy Magic will love the Purrmaid adventures.  

Who should buy this book?  elementary schools, home and public libraries

Where would you shelve it ?  Fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  no

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Julie Durmis, JC Solmonese Elementary School, Norton, MA

Date of review:  June 4, 2021

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Starred Review, Cats, Fantasy, Mermaids, Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.