Ozy and Millie: Perfectly Normal by Dana Simpson


Ozy and Millie: Perfectly Normal by Dana Simpson. Andrews McMeel, 2021. 9781524865092

Format: Paperback

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre: Comics/humor

What did you like about the book? Before there was Phoebe and Her Unicorn there was Oxy and Millie. Simpson imbued these characters with the same kind of slightly depressed deadpan humor as Phoebe‘s fans have come to love. Ozy and Millie are foxes, and Ozy’s dad is a nerdy dragon. Ozy is the foil to Millie’s tendency to overthink things. Existential angst is applied to all things great and small, from the weather and cleaning her room to cogitations on trust, existence, popularity and art. There is a lot of individuality to the characters, but kids will recognize the types. The vignettes run 1 to 2 pages, with 3 to 4 panels per page, making the short jokes easy to parse.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book?  For fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn or Calvin and Hobbes-type comics, ages 8-14.

Who should buy this book? Elementary and middle school and public libraries

Where would you shelve it ? Comics

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Stephanie Tournas, Robbins Library, Arlington, MA

Date of review: March 9, 2021

This entry was posted in *Book Review, Animal fiction, Comic / Cartoon, Dana Simpson and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.