Allergic by Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter


     Allergic by Megan Wagner Lloyd and Michelle Mee Nutter, Graphix, 9781338568912, c2021
Format: Advanced Readers Copy
Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5
Genre:  Graphic novel
What did you like about the book? Poor Maggie, she has her heart set on getting a dog for her birthday. Unfortunately, life has other plans. Maggie is allergic to dogs, well, dogs, cats, rabbits…just about anything with fur or feathers.
Anyone who has allergies like Maggie will sympathize with her and her disappointment. It is not an easy time for Maggie right now, her younger twin brothers are driving her crazy and a new sibling is due very soon, and she had to move to a different school where she doesn’t know anyone.
Maggie tries to find a good pet that doesn’t aggravate her allergies as she undergoes shots to help her immune system, in the meantime, a new friend arrives next door and though they have their ups and downs, Maggie and Claire will work things out again and again.
The illustrations are fun and match the story to a t.
Anything you didn’t like about it? No
To whom would you recommend this book?   Readers of graphic novels will enjoy this upcoming book, especially if they like stories that are close to their own. Fans of Stepping Stones and Raina Telgemeier’s books will love this, too.
Who should buy this book? Middle and High schools as well as Public libraries will definitely want to get this book.
Where would you shelve it? Graphic novel section
Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes!
Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Maria Touet, Malden Public Schools, Malden, MA
Date of review: February 27, 2021
This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Starred Review, Allergies, ARC, Graphic novel, Pets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.