Little Bird Visits the Big City – Domenico Granata


    Little Bird Visits the Big City – Domenico Granata, Michael Neugebauer Publishing/ minedition, 9789888342037, 2020

Format: Hardcover Picture Book

Rating:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 3

What did you like about the book?  The bold colors, geometric shapes, and stylized characters and scenery are appealing, as is the theme of a young bird who is curious about the big city he can see from his home in the woods.  Swooping, curving text allows the reader to feel a little like a bird in flight.

Upon reaching the city, Little Bird feels proud to have successfully made the journey, and makes some observations comparing what he sees in the city with his forest back home.  After a while, he begins to feel lonely and wish that he had brought friends with him, as his mother suggested.

Anything you didn’t like about it?   Instead of having Little Bird find inner courage or make new friends in the city, Granata has Little Bird’s friends appear from behind the shrubbery.  It turns out they were following him the whole time!  What is this story supposed to be about?  Curiosity and growth?  Your friends and parents not trusting you to have the skills to cope in new situations?  Don’t go places alone?  You’re too young to stretch your wings and try for some independence?  Don’t be proud? Who is the audience for this book?

To whom would you recommend this book?   This may appeal to readers who loved The Runaway Bunny or Love You Forever.  

Who should buy this book? Public libraries with large budgets.

Where would you shelve it?  Picture Books.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State:  Robin Shtulman, Athol Public Library, Athol, MA

Date of review:   12 November 2020

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Picture Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.