When Pencil Met the Markers – story by Karen Kilpatrick and Luis O. Ramos Jr., illustrated by Germán Blanco


When Pencil Met the Markers – story by Karen Kilpatrick and Luis O. Ramos Jr., illustrated by Germán Blanco, Imprint, 9781250309402, 2020

Format: Hardcover

Rating:  1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre: Picture book

What did you like about the book? This is a great sequel to the first book, When Pencil Met Eraser. Purple likes coloring outside the lines, but feels left out because all of the other markers only color inside the lines and don’t recognize Purple’s skills. Pencil comes along to work with Purple to create new drawings together, and then the other markers are able to see how coloring outside the lines can be good. The messages of self-acceptance, thinking outside the box, creativity, and working with others who are different are great for young readers, and the school supply characters make it a very fun story. Most of the illustrations appear to be pencil and marker, and the facial expressions on the school supplies add personality and humor to the story. The ending appears to point to a third book introducing crayons, which I look forward to. 

Anything you did not like about the book. The message is slightly didactic. 

To whom would you recommend this book? This would make a great read-aloud to discuss acceptance, working together, and thinking outside the box. Readers who like other books about school supplies would likely enjoy this as well. Read-alike for Red (Hall). 

Who should buy this book? Elementary school librarians, public librarians

Where would you shelve it? Picture books

Should we (librarians) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Sarah Bickel, Greenlodge Elementary School, Dedham Massachusetts

Date of review: August 18, 2020

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Picture Book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.