Llama Unleashes the Alpacalypse – written by Jonathan Stutzman, illustrated by Heather Fox


 Llama Unleashes the Alpacalypse – written by Jonathan Stutzman, illustrated by Heather Fox, Henry Holt and Company, 9781250222855, 2020

Format: Hardcover

Rating:  1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre: Picture book

What did you like about the book? There’s a lot to like! Llama loves eating and making messes, but doesn’t like cleaning up (which many kids will be able to relate to!). Instead of cleaning up after himself, he invites Alpaca over to duplicate him so that the many Alpaca clones can clean. Unsurprisingly, the Alpaca clones take over the world, trying to clean everything but in reality creating more of a disaster. Llama barely fixes the problem, and the story ends with a likely future mess by using the Replicator 3000 to continue to try to solve his problems. The use of onomatopoeia and some dialogue bubbles with fun fonts, colors, and sizes adds appeal and personality to the characters and the book overall. The illustrations include many humorous details and side characters that children will love to explore. 

Anything you did not like about the book. Nothing

To whom would you recommend this book? Readers who like silly animal stories will love this! Read-alike for Pig the Pug and other picture books by Aaron Blabey. 

Who should buy this book? Elementary school librarians, public librarians

Where would you shelve it? Picture books

Should we (librarians) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Sarah Bickel, Greenlodge Elementary School, Dedham Massachusetts

Date of review: August 18, 2020

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Picture Book, Heather Fox, Jonathan Stutzman and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.