You Can Do It, Noisy Nora! by Rosemary Wells


91uAaGgJCDL._AC_UY218_You Can Do It, Noisy Nora! by Rosemary Wells. Viking (9781101999233), 2020

Format:  Hardcover

Rating: 1- 5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre:  Picture Book

What did you like about the book?  Nora hears a neighbor playing Clair de Lune on violin and is inspired to learn to play herself.  Although her sister wants Nora to play anything other than a “screeching violin,” Nora knows what she wants.  Soon Mrs. Yamamoto arrives to teach, bringing a violin and Nora begins her lessons.  Nora practices every day with lots of “Twang!” “Screech!” and even a “Shriek!”  Her family opts to cover their ears and ask her to play outside, but Nora is determined to play a special song on September 1.  When the big day arrives, Nora plays Happy Birthday for her mother.    This is a wonderful story about perseverance and the art of practicing that will inspire young musicians.  The watercolor illustrations, in Wells’ signature style, are full of bright colors and lots of expression.   This is the perfect story to share with a budding musician.

Anything you didn’t like about it? There is one little area where the rhyme falters, but otherwise it flows very well.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Fans of Noisy Nora and Rosemary Wells will delight in this new title.  This is a great choice for children who are interested in learning to play an instrument.

Who should buy this book?  Public Libraries and preschool and elementary school libraries

Where would you shelve it? Picture Books

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles?  Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City:  Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review:  6/25/20

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Picture Book, Music, Rosemary Wells and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.