The Infamous Ratsos Camp Out – written by Kara LaReau, illustrated by Matt Myers, Candlewick Press, 9781536200065, 2020


  The Infamous Ratsos Camp Out – written by Kara LaReau, illustrated by Matt Myers, Candlewick Press, 9781536200065, 2020

Format: Hardcover

Rating:  1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre: Easy Reader/Easy Chapter Book (Animals)

What did you like about the book? Brothers Louie and Ralphie go on a camping trip with the Big City Scouts. When they encounter problems – from putting up their tents, to fishing for food, to walking through poison ivy – friends offer help but they turn it down after hearing from Grandpa Ratso that scouts should be able to successfully do everything on their own. By the end  of the book the message is clear to Grandpa Ratso, Louie, Ralphie, and their friends that accepting help from others makes life better for everyone. The message is clear enough for young readers to recognize and understand, but it is well-woven into a funny and action-filled plot. There are many puns and tough situations that kids will laugh at, and they will also learn some fun facts about camping and the outdoors along the way. There is a brief mention that the boys’ mother recently died, but it is not a focus of the book. The font is large and clear and easy to read. Black and white illustrations on most pages show great facial expressions which really add to the humor of the story. 

Anything you did not like about the book. No

To whom would you recommend this book? It’d be a great chapter book to read aloud to kindergarten or first graders, and is a good beginner chapter book for young readers, especially because it feels a bit more like a chapter book than an easy reader book. Anyone who enjoyed the first three books in the Infamous Ratsos series will like this newest one. Fans of Charlie and Mouse (Snyder) or Mercy Watson (DiCamillo) will likely enjoy the Infamous Ratsos as well. 

Who should buy this book? Elementary school librarians, public librarians

Where would you shelve it? Easy chapter books,  or chapter books

Should we (librarians) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Sarah Bickel, Greenlodge Elementary School, Dedham Massachusetts

Date of review: May 12, 2020

This entry was posted in *Book Review, Animal fiction, Beginning Reader, Camping, Early Chapter book, Kara LeReau, Matt Myers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.