Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger


81t72Ocwf1L._AC_UY218_ML3_

Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger. Random House Graphic, 2020. 9781984896766

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre:  Fantasy

What did you like about the book? I am always looking for early grade graphic novels to offer to younger readers. This adorable book about friendship in the insect world perfectly fits the bill. Rhino-B and Stag-B are beetles and best friends. Each short chapter is a new adventure, involving a rotating cast of characters, including Dome Spider, who is a librarian, a hive of bees, and a mound of termites. Gentle humor throughout, with nods to genuine insect behavior, and including a few wild, psychedelic moments. The journey down the termite hole was a trip! Facts about beetles and a drawing tutorial are at the end. A second book is planned for 2021.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book?  Perfect for fans of Ben Hatke’s Zita the Spacegirl and Aron Nels Steinke’s Mr. Wolfe’s Class.

Who should buy this book? Elementary school and public libraries

Where would you shelve it ? Graphic fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? If you’re a graphic novel connoisseur.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Stephanie Tournas, Robbins Library, Arlington, MA

Date of review: February 18, 2020

This entry was posted in *Book Review, Graphic novel, Insects, Laura Knetzger and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.