The Fashion Kitty Collection by Charise Mericle Harper


718BrfImTQL._AC_UL320_ML3_The Fashion Kitty Collection by Charise Mericle Harper. Disney Hyperion, 2019. 9781368049634

Format: Paperback

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre:  Fantasy

What did you like about the book? Books one and two of the series are collected in one volume of Fashion Kitty adorableness. Fashion Kitty, aka Kiki Kittie, lives with her parents, little sister and pet mouse. They are an unusual family for 3 reasons: the pet mouse (they are vegetarian cats); they believe in “free fashion”, meaning anything goes, no matter what the pattern combinations; and, they know Kiki’s secret identity as the famous Fashion Kitty, a hero in the fight for fashion freedom, helping all who struggle with fashion dilemmas. The series is a cozy, gentle read, with a “Be Yourself” message in every story, revolving around school, family and stopping fashion bullies. The appealing 3-color art is simple line drawing with 2-5 panels per opening, making it easy to read.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book?  For fans of Babymouse, Phoebe and Her Unicorn, and other early grade graphic novels.

Who should buy this book? Elementary school and public libraries

Where would you shelve it ? Graphic fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Stephanie Tournas, Robbins Library, Arlington, MA

Date of review: November 22, 2019

This entry was posted in *Book Review, Charise Mericle Harper, Fashion, Graphic novel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.