My Teacher is a Robot by Jeffrey Brown


912Txo03o7L._AC_UL436_My Teacher is a Robot by Jeffrey Brown. Crown, 2019. 978055353451

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre:  Picture book

What did you like about the book? Freddy is a comics- and dinosaurs- obsessed youngster who firmly believes his teacher, Mr. Bailey, is a robot. Through lavishly illustrated pages chock full of color art, with speech bubbles for text, depicting Freddy’s school day and imagination, he tries to make his case to the reader. The art channels his little kid ideas in such fabulous color and detail that one can practically hear the kids, feel the mud of the mud monsters, and smell the school lunch room. I love that the teacher, who is black, has such humor and affection for his students, of different races and abilities. And I love that Brown so effectively gets into the mind of a kid and his imagination. Of course, after the school day filled with learning and wild imagination, when his dad asks him how his day went, Fred answers “Boring.” The book cover and end papers meld with the story and offer additional fun story lines of their own. And I would say that the jury is still out as to whether Mr. Bailey is a robot, or just a great teacher.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book?  Fans of Brown’s Darth Vader and Jedi Academy series, ages 5 and up, will enjoy this foray into picture books. Even younger kids who can’t get enough robots will love the book.

Who should buy this book? Elementary school and public libraries

Where would you shelve it ? Picture books

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Stephanie Tournas, Robbins Library, Arlington, MA

Date of review: August 17, 2019

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Picture Book, Graphic picture book, Jeffrey Brown, School and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.