When Pencil Met Eraser – story by Karen Kilpatrick and Luis O. Ramos, Jr., illustrated by German Blanco


     When Pencil Met Eraser – story by Karen Kilpatrick and Luis O. Ramos, Jr., illustrated by German Blanco, Imprint – a part of Macmillan Publishing Group, 9781250309396, 2019.

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

What did you like about the book? Have you ever wondered why there’s a little pink eraser on every pencil? Well, you are in for a treat as you discover why! This is a clever take on teamwork that shows us we are always better off when we have someone by our side. Eraser makes Pencil’s work that much more creative when he does his job, albeit a little too well for Pencil’s liking. At first, Pencil is annoyed with Eraser’s well-intentioned efforts, but after a mishap in a maze, he realizes that Eraser is just the trusty sidekick he needs to have more fun and be more successful. As the story comes to a close, the authors tease the reader with the pops of color that only markers can provide – hinting perhaps to a sequel they may have in store? The pencil drawings (of course!), combined with the pop of yellow and pink of Pencil and Eraser, add a nice retro dimension to the story.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book? This book is great for a fun read aloud and picture walk. Fans of  “The Legend of Rock, Paper, Scissors” would find this tale a nice addition to their collections.

Who should buy this book? Public libraries and elementary libraries.

Where would you shelve it? Picture books

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State:
Linda Broderick, Lincoln Street Elementary School, Northboro, MA

Date of review: 6/16/19

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Starred Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.