I’m Sad – by Michael Ian Black, illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi


  I’m Sad by Michael Ian Black, illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 9781481476270, 2018.

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre:  Picture book

What did like about the book? A little girl and her two companions, a potato and a hot pink flamingo hang out together. The flamingo is sad. No reason, he just feels sad. There is nothing wrong with feeling sad, even the little girl says that sometimes it feels good to be sad. The three go off and have fun, and eventually the flamingo feels a little better but is still sad.

This is a great book to show kids that feeling sad is not a bad thing or a wrong feeling. Everyone feel sad sometimes.

The illustrations are bright and vivid and full of fun. It’s a great book to read aloud with little ones and for older kids to read themselves.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No.

To whom would you recommend this book? Fans of Ohi’s and Black’s other works will love this one, too.  The first one of this series is I’m Bored.

Who should buy this book? Public libraries can use this for a really fun story time and daycares would benefit from having this in their collection, too.

Where would you shelve it? Picture books

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes!

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Maria Touet, Pope John XXIII High School, Everett, MA

Date of review: July 15, 2018

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s