Stomp! Stomp! – Sebastien Braun


      Stomp! Stomp! (Can You Say It, Too?) – Sebastien Braun, Nosy Crow, an imprint of Candlewick Press, (9780763699345), 2018.

Format: Board Book, Lift-the-flap

Rating: 1-5:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

What did you like about the book? Starting with the question, “Who’s that behind the bush?,” young readers are encouraged to lift flaps to discover dinosaurs, such as the triceratops that is found behind the flap made from a big green bush. There is also a diplodocus “beside the trees”, a pterodactyl “in the clouds”, and t. rex “next to the rock”. The dinosaurs, even the predators, are cute and smiling. Colors are cheerful and bright. The flaps feel sturdy enough to stand up to repeated use by little hands.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Preschool teachers could use this adorable book to familiarize toddlers with dinosaurs.  A blurb on the back suggests that the book is perfect for children who are just starting to talk.

Readalikes: Others in the Can You Say It, Too series, such as, Moo! Moo!, Quack! Quack!, and Arf! Arf!

Who should buy this book? Day care centers and public libraries.

Where would you shelve it?  Shelve with Board Books.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  No.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School Library, Billerica, MA

Date of review:  4/16/18

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Board book, Book Review, Lift-the-Flap and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s