Small Walt – story by Elizabeth Verdick, pictures by Marc Rosenthal


 Small Walt – story by Elizabeth Verdick, pictures by Marc Rosenthal, Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers, (9781481448451), 2017.

Format: Hardcover Picture Book

Rating: 1-5:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 3

What did you like about the book? In rhyming text, a cute little snowplow shows the bigger snowplows that his small size won’t keep him from doing a good job. When a blizzard starts, Walt is once again the last bulldozer chosen to head out into the storm with his driver, Gus. He gamely plows and salts mile after mile of slush and muck all night. Displaying grit, Walt and Gus even tackle a high, high hill, “We’re Gus and Walt. / We plow and we salt. / We’ll fight the snow. / Get ready – now GO!” The other plows are impressed, and Gus ends up showing his appreciation for his gutsy little buddy by hanging a blue ribbon made from his scarf onto Walt’s mirror. Examples of rhyme, alliteration, and onomatopoeia appear throughout the tale.

Anything you didn’t like about it?   No.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Recommended for youngsters in preK to second grade.

Readalikes: For other appealing anthropomorphic vehicles, see Kate McMullan’s I Stink! (garbage truck) and I’m Smart! (school bus) and for similar can-do spirit, read Watty Piper’s The Little Engine That Could.

Who should buy this book? Elementary school libraries and public libraries.

Where would you shelve it?  Shelve with picture books.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  No.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School Library, Billerica, MA

Date of review:  3/11/18

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s