The Girl Who Saved Christmas – Matt Haig, illustrations by Chris Mould


   The Girl Who Saved Christmas – Matt Haig, illustrations by Chris Mould, Alfred A. Knopf, (9781524700447), 2017

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1- 5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre:  Fantasy

What did you like about the book?  This companion book to A Boy Called Christmas can be read on its own or as a sequel.  The author aptly combines Dickenisan realism with wondrous fantasy and humor to create a new holiday classic.  Father Christmas is readying for his second annual Christmas trip when his home of Elfheim is attacked by trolls.  The previous year, Father Christmas was able to bring joy to children all over the world due to the hope of one little London girl. “Without that one child, that eight-year-old girl called Amelia Wishart, hoping so hard for magic to be real, Christmas would never have happened…she was the one who saved it. The dream of magic.”  But by this second Christmas Eve, Amelia has lost all hope, the trolls have destroyed Elfheim and Father Christmas is unable to bring his magic and joy.  Father Christmas, his elves, and reindeer are determined to make Christmas happen the following year; they just need to find Amelia.  The pen and ink illustrations ranging from thumbnail to full-page, perfectly capture the tone of the story. Filled with humor, adventure, magic and hope this is sure to become a holiday classic.  

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No

To whom would you recommend this book? Readers of A Boy Called Christmas will love this sequel.  Hand it to readers who enjoy Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl books.

Who should buy this book?  Public Libraries

Where would you shelve it? Fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles?  Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City:  Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review:   12/10/17             

 

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review, Christmas, Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s