Murder, Magic, and What We Wore – Kelly Jones


    Murder, Magic, and What We Wore – Kelly Jones, Alfred A. Knopf, (9780553535204), 2017

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1- 5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre:  Mysteries

What did you like about the book?  This novel is the perfect blend of Jane Austen and Harry Potter. In 1818 England, sixteen-year old Annis Whitworth has just learned of her father’s death. As her father was often abroad, Annis is convinced he was a spy and longs to become one herself.Her Aunt Cassie, who has cared for Annis since her mother’s death, insists that Annis must become a companion to an elderly lady of means. But while making alterations to their mourning attire, Annis discovers that she has the gift of glamour. She has magic that can alter garments into disguises. Now she will be someone the War Office will want to hire as a spy! Annis sets out to prove that her father was murdered by a double agent and soon finds herself in danger. This is a wonderful blend of mystery, fantasy and historical fiction with strong female characters.  I hope there will be more adventures to follow.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No

To whom would you recommend this book? Hand this to readers who love Jane Austen and Regency era fiction as well as those who enjoy a good mystery with a little fantasy mixed in.

Who should buy this book?  Public Libraries and high school libraries

Where would you shelve it? YA fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles?  Yes, if you love Jane Austen and mysteries.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City:  Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review:  11/16/17             

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review, Mystery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s