Cyclone – Doreen Cronin


Cyclone – Doreen Cronin, illustrations by Debra Sfetsios-Conover, Atheneum Books for Young Readers, (9781481435253), 2017

Format: hardcover

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre: realistic

What did you like about the book? Doreen Cronin, author of Click Clack Moo, etc, has written a powerful debut novel about friendship, sickness and health that will stay with readers for a long time. Nora is excited to ride the Cyclone at Coney Island, so excited that she bribes her cousin Riley to ride it with her even though Riley is terrified. Unfortunately, Riley has an undiagnosed heart condition and has a stroke immediately following the ride. What comes next is terrifying — a long stay in the hospital for Riley with all her family around her. While at the hospital, Nora meets Jack, who is there for his brother who has cancer. Now Nora is terrified–that her family will find out about the fight she and Riley had the night before the accident, that they will find out about the bribe….and that Riley will not ever recover. Then Nora gets a chance to participate in Riley’s recovery by helping images for Riley to point to in her Official Book of Riley (ORB). But will Riley forgive her? I loved this honest, first-person portrayal of a kid wracked with guilt over an accident. Nora’s feelings progress in a believable way throughout the book and the reader feels every emotion along with her. The book is interspersed with explanatory footnotes about hospital lingo and terminology, as well as hand-drawn images that Nora makes for Riley’s word book. Above all, the book has heart.

Anything you didn’t like about it? Nothing.

To whom would you recommend this book? Give this to students who like emotional realistic fiction. Fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Dan Gemeinhart will love this one.

Who should buy this book? All schools

Where would you shelve it ? realistic fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes! I loved this one and read it in one day.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Laura Gardner, Dartmouth Middle School, Dartmouth, MA

Date of review: July 26, 2017

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review, Realistic/Contemporary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s