The Space Disaster – written and illustrated by Matthew McElligott


 The Space Disaster (Mad Scientist Academy, #3) – written and illustrated by Matthew McElligott, Crown Books for Young Readers, (9780553523829), 2017.

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre: Graphic Novel, Science fiction

What did you like about the book? In their third adventure in the Mad Scientist Academy, the six unusual-looking students who attend Dr. Cosmic’s classes learn a slew of information about astronomy. The students are instructed to identify where they are using clues provided by Dr. Cosmic’s planetarium machine that reproduces the look and feel of planetary objects. For instance, when they experience weaker gravity than Earth, cold, and everything looks red, they guess correctly that they are on Mars. Then the machine goes haywire, and it becomes critical to correctly identify the next three objects.  Loads of basic information about astronomy is communicated through the students’ dialog and through diagrams and explanations provided to the class. I can testify that hearing the definitions of terms like ‘orbit’ and ‘gravity’ is more fun when weird-looking creatures offer definitions.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Recommended for young people in second to fourth grade who like both science and science fiction. Also, could be useful to elementary school science teachers to supplement astronomy units.

Readalikes: Previous books in the series – The Dinosaur Disaster and The Weather Disaster. Also, the Magic School Bus series.

Who should buy this book? Elementary school libraries and public libraries.

Where would you shelve it?  Shelve with Graphic Novels.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  Top half of the pile.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School Library, Billerica, MA

Date of review:  7/20/17

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review, Graphic novel, Science Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s