How to Get Your Teacher Ready – by Jena Reagan, illustrated by Lee Wildish


  How to Get Your Teacher Ready – by Jena Reagan, illustrated by Lee Wildish, Alfred A. Knopf, (9780553538250), 2017.

Format: Hardcover Picture Book

Rating: 1-5:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 3

What did you like about the book? This is a fun way to prepare children to start school by casting them as the experts doing things to make the teacher feel comfortable, starting with, “Make her feel welcome with an extra-big smile.” Among other things, the children in this multicultural classroom are shown singing songs, at lunch, giving a holiday concert, celebrating the 100th day of school, and at Field Day. Humorous events appear throughout. In one of the funniest drawings, the teacher’s messy hair needs to be combed before class pictures. At the end, the text states, “Your teacher will remember you forever. And you’ll remember her.” The last set of end pages display notes and drawings by students who clearly have come to love their teacher.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Recommend to parents getting children ready to start school and for reading aloud by teachers or librarians during the early days of a new school year.

Readalikes: The reassuring message is similar to that of School’s First Day of School and 12 Days of Kindergarten. Readers might also enjoy Reagan’s previous five How To… books (Babysit a Grandpa, Babysit a Grandma, Catch Santa, Raise a Mom, Surprise a Dad).

Who should buy this book? Preschools, elementary school libraries and classrooms, and public libraries.

Where would you shelve it?  Shelve with general picture books.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  No.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School Library, Billerica, MA

Date of review:  7/11/17

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s