Be Quiet! – Ryan T. Higgins


         Be Quiet! – Ryan T. Higgins, Disney Hyperion, (9781484731628), 2017

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1- 5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre:  Picture Book

What did you like about the book?  Rupert, one of the mice from Hotel Bruce, is ready to star in his own book.  “I’m going to make it a wordless book. Those are very artistic.”  Unfortunately, he is soon joined by his sidekicks Thistle and Nibbs whose verbiage fills the book with word balloons.  Rupert tries his best to get them to be quiet, to no avail, and the book just gets funnier and funnier.  The illustrations add to the fun with Rupert in his Groucho glasses getting more and more frustrated.  When Rupert tells them the book must be “visually stimulating” with strong illustrations, the next pages show Thistle and Nibbs striking body builder poses.  Bruce himself makes a cameo appearance: “What about him? He’s strong. He’s silent. Every book needs a bear in it!”  In the end, Rupert fills a whole page with words as he rants against Thistle and Nibbs and is told: “Shh. Be quiet. This book does not have words.”  Filled with humor and wonderfully expressive and detailed illustrations, this one is another winner!

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No

To whom would you recommend this book?  Fans of Mother Bruce and Hotel Bruce will love this one.  Pair it with Chester by Melanie Watt and Do Not Open This Book! by Michaela  Muntean for a fun book writing story time theme.

Who should buy this book?  Public libraries and elementary school libraries

Where would you shelve it?  Picture Books

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles?   Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City:  Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review:  7/2/17             

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s