The Good For Nothing Button – Charise Mericle Harper


          The Good For Nothing Button (An Elephant and Piggy Like Reading Book), Charise Mericle Harper, Disney Hyperion, (9781484726464), 2017

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1- 5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre: Picture Book

What did you like about the book?  This easy reader will have children laughing aloud.   Large Yellow Bird cannot wait to show his two friends the button he has found. This is a red button to press, not a clothing button.  He tells them the button does nothing.  Blue Bird is very excited and when he presses the button he is surprised.  Red Bird then announces “A surprise in NOT nothing.”  Then Red Bird presses it and is sad because she is not surprised, “And sad is NOT nothing.”  Yellow Bird becomes more and more agitated as he insists the button does nothing.  In the end after the trio find the button makes them happy, mad, calm, and funny, they decide “Wow. That button does everything!”  The bright cartoon illustrations in primary colors complement the text that appears in dialog balloons of varied hues.   Fans of Mo Willem’s Pigeon series will find Yellow Bird to be very Pigeon-like. It is plus for Mo Willem’s fans that Elephant and Piggy make an appearance at the beginning and the end of the story.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No

To whom would you recommend this book?   Readers who loved Mo Willem’s Elephant and Piggy series and his Pigeon series will laugh aloud at this one!  Having Elephant and Piggy introduce the story and stretch it further at the end is a fun gift for the fans.  

Who should buy this book?  Public Libraries and elementary school libraries

Where would you shelve it?  Easy Readers

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles? Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City:  Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review:  5/11/17             

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s