What Will Grow? – by Jennifer Ward, illustrated by Susie Ghahremani


 What Will Grow? – by Jennifer Ward, illustrated by Susie Ghahremani, Bloomsbury, (9781681190303), 2017.

Format: Hardcover Picture Book

Rating: 1-5:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

What did you like about the book? The wonders of seeds are introduced in this fun, informative book that even young children could understand. Twelve seeds are introduced. Each features a four to five word rhyme followed by the repeated phrase “What will grow?” On the right, the plant that grows from that seed is shown along with wildlife (squirrels, birds, insects) that eat either the seed or the fruit of the seed. In four instances, a gatefold hides the plant. The folds cleverly change direction depending on what plant they reveal: upwards for tall sunflowers and a towering pine tree, downward for carrots, and sideways for a wide bed of lettuce. The last rhyme, “Dark deep. / Fast asleep.” shows a sleeping mole and insects along with all the previously introduced seeds in clumps underground. The next page shows “My garden!” with all the seeds sprouted into their plants. Each seed is repeated along with facts about when and how to sow it. Lastly, using a sunflower seed as an example, four steps show the life cycle of plants.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Recommend to preschool and kindergarten teachers to introduce the life cycle of plants.

Readalikes: What Will Hatch?

Who should buy this book? Preschool and elementary school libraries and public libraries.

Where would you shelve it?  Shelve with Picture Books.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  Yes, if you are a gardener and have little ones in your life.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School Library, Billerica, MA

Date of review:  5/11/17

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s