When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon


When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, SimonPulse, May 2017,  (9781481478687)

Format:  Hardcover

Rating:  1-5: (5 is an excellent or starred review) 5

Genre: Realistic Fiction

What did you like about the book? I picked this book up originally for its cover and, unlike some books I have read, the cover very much ties in to the story.  I loved the Indian flare that was brought to this book, it taught me a lot about the culture and expectations of teens in those communities/families.  I also found myself falling in love with the characters, who were charming and funny and brilliant to watch as they grew.

Anything you didn’t like about it? I can’t think of anything because everything felt resolved by the end.  

To whom would you recommend this book? Fans of Eleanor & Park, those looking for a light romance or first love, those looking for stories about growing up or heading to college, and anyone looking to read diverse books.  

Who should buy this book? Librarians are definitely going to want to add this one as it gives us an honest look at Indian teenagers, who need more representation in YA fiction.  Booksellers should too because teens will surely see the cover and be interested.   

Where would you shelve it? Realistic Fiction, Culture & Diversity

Should we (librarians) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes.  If you’ve been talking about wanting diversity in your books, this is a lovely story that infuses a great amount of Indian culture with first and sudden love.  It also makes you fall for it.  

Christina, Thayer Public Library, Braintree MA

Date of review:  4/14/2017

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s