Snail-Snaily-Snails – by Bonnie Bader


  Snail-Snaily-Snails (Penguin Young Readers, Level 2) – by Bonnie Bader, Penguin Young Readers, (9780451534408), 2017.

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4.5

Genre: Non-fiction Easy Reader

What did you like about the book? As indicated by the whimsical title, this non-fiction easy reader is all about snails.  As a Penguin Level 2 book, it is aimed at readers in guided reading levels E-I. The early reader’s interest is cultivated through use of short sentences, plentiful white space, and large, clear photos on a white background.  The page with “A snail’s body is soft and wet and slimy,” really draws the eyes to it as it shows a large snail being held in what is clearly a small child’s hand. Facts combine the usual (what they look like, habitat) with the less commonly known (largest and smallest, predators). Very well done.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Recommend to elementary science teachers as well as elementary and public libraries looking to add engaging easy reader non-fiction.

Readalikes: Others in the series, especially the adorable Hedge-Hedgey-Hedgehogs and Ham-Ham-Hamsters.

Who should buy this book? Elementary school classrooms, elementary libraries, public libraries.

Where would you shelve it?  Shelve in 595.7.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  No.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School Library, Billerica, MA

Date of review:  4/4/17

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s