Double or Nothing with the Two and Only Kelly Twins by Johanna Hurwitz, illustrated by Tuesday Mourning


   Double or Nothing with the Two and Only Kelly Twins by Johanna Hurwitz, illustrated by Tuesday Mourning. Candlewick, 2017. 9780763688080

Format: ARC

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 3.5

Genre:  Realistic fiction

What did you like about the book? Five short chapters tell a slice-of-life story about second grade identical twins Arlene and Ilene. They have friends who are twins and like doing things the same. A sleepover where the twins are separated prompts the sisters to realize that they can have fun apart.

Anything you didn’t like about it? Not much happens that isn’t seen through the lens of twinhood, but this could be appealing to kids who like stories about siblings.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Definitely fun for twins to read, especially those who enjoyed the early reader series Ling and Ting by Grace Lin. Also for fans of Ivy and Bean and Clementine.

Who should buy this book? Elementary school and public libraries

Where would you shelve it ? Fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Stephanie Tournas, Robbins Library, Arlington, MA

Date of review: April 4, 2017

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s