Triangle – Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen


           Triangle – Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen, Candlewick Press, (9780763696030), 2017

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1- 5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review)  5

Genre: Picture Book

What did you like about the book?  Caldecott honor collaborators Barnett and Klaassen employ minimalistic text and illustrations in a muted color palette to tell a slapstick tale.  Triangle, a dark grey shape with shifty eyes and stick legs  sets out to play a “sneaky trick” on Square.  He leaves his triangle-shaped house and traipses past “shapes that weren’t triangles anymore. They were shapes with no names”  until he comes to a place full of squares.  Once at Square’s house, Triangle hides and begins to hiss like a snake.  Square is terrified of snakes, but soon realizes it was a “sneaky trick.” Square chases Triangle back to his home where Square becomes wedged in the triangle-shaped doorway.  Triangle laughs until he realizes that he is now trapped in the dark.  “Triangle was afraid of the dark.”  Square tells him that was his plan all along, but the final page asks the reader “But do you really believe him?” This is a fun story that will encourage lots of discussion.  

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No

To whom would you recommend this book?  Fans of Barnett and Klassen’s previous works Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Yarn Tale will love this new title, the first in a planned trilogy.

Who should buy this book?  Public libraries

Where would you shelve it? Picture Books

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles? Yes.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City:  Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review: 3/19/17             

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s