Girl Rising: Changing the World One Girl at a Time – by Tanya Lee Stone


 Girl Rising: Changing the World One Girl at a Time – by Tanya Lee Stone, Wendy Lamb Books, (9780553511468), 2017.

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre:  Non-fiction, Social Justice

What did you like about the book?  Stories told by specific girls about their lives personalize the difficulties faced by girls around the world simply to obtain an education and improve their lives. In first person accounts, the unimaginable horrors of modern-day slavery and child marriage are recounted. A concluding section on solutions gives examples of what some courageous girls are doing to try to change these conditions and create a better future despite unimaginable obstacles. The book is based on a film of the same name. Plentiful photos supplement the text. An extensive bibliography, source notes, and index are included.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  It is difficult to read some of the horrifying stories and to realize that these things actually happen.

To whom would you recommend this book?  Recommend to libraries that wish to update and expand their human rights and social change offerings. Keep in mind for Women’s History Month displays in March.

Readalikes: I Am Malala

Who should buy this book? Middle school libraries, high school libraries, and public libraries.

Where would you shelve it?  Shelve in 371.82 with books on student activism.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  Yes.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School Library, Billerica, MA

Date of review:  3/8/17

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s