Antoinette – by Kelly DiPucchio, illustrated by Christian Robinson


51kd8riah5l            Antoinette – by Kelly DiPucchio, illustrated by Christian Robinson, Atheneum Books for Young Readers, (9781481457835), 2017.

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5:  (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre:  Picture Book

What did you like about the book? Mrs. Bulldog and her puppies are “ridiculously cute, but please don’t tell them that,” the narrator cautions. Antoinette’s brothers, clever Rocky, fast Ricky, and strong Bruno, all look just like their mom. Antoinette, who is clearly a poodle, doesn’t think she has a unique capability, but her mom is confident that she will eventually be “extra special.” Antoinette gets her chance when one of their friends, the little dog Ooh-La-La disappears. Despite many obstacles, Antoinette finds her and bravely saves her from an accident. Pages at the end reveal how far Antoinette’s bravery eventually takes her. Fun to read on its own, this is even better when paired with its companion, Gaston. Christian Robinson’s artwork is remarkable! He transforms pieces of cut paper into a stylish Paris and his adorable little dogs have surprisingly readable expressions.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  No.

To whom would you recommend this book?  The large format and clear text and illustrations would make this a natural for read-aloud story times.

Readalikes: Gaston 

Who should buy this book? Elementary school libraries and public libraries.

Where would you shelve it?  Shelve with Picture Books.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?  Only if it interests you.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School Library, Billerica, MA

Date of review:  3/6/17

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s