Under Rose-Tainted Skies – Louise Gornall


51zzywc2vll Under Rose-Tainted Skies – Louise Gornall, Clarion Books,  9780544736511, 2017

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 3

Genre:  YA Realistic Fiction

What did you like about the book? An important story that tackles agoraphobia, anxiety and OCD all in one fell swoop. Norah is housebound, terrified of staircases, and is rocked by turbulent thoughts and images on a near constant basis. Despite the fact that she is dealing with a horrifying illness, it will be easy for teens to relate to her. However, I didn’t feel that the romance was welcome. Is mental illness cured by a little heart-to-heart action? I don’t think so. To be fair, the romance with the boy next door doesn’t take the reins and guide the entire story to its end. There is quite a bit of character development as Norah shares her daily struggles and challenges with her readers.

Anything you didn’t like about it? Predictability. Subject matter is uncomfortable at times. 

To whom would you recommend this book?  Fans of Everything, Everything and OCD Love Story

Who should buy this book? Libraries where realistic fiction is popular

Where would you shelve it? YA fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Kasia Piasecka, Falmouth Public Library, Falmouth, MA

Date of review: 2/20/17

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s