The Love That Split the World – written by Emily Henry


518fdrhmnzl  The Love That Split the World – written by Emily Henry, Razorbill, 9781595148513, 2017

Format: Paperback

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 2

Genre:  time-travel, young adult, mild fantasy

What did you like about the book?  I judged the book by its cover- and I don’t know if I won or lost.  Honestly, this book left me confused.  It took me a little while to get into this book.  There was a lot of story-telling and “ghostly” visits that I had to get used to.

The main character, Natalie, is an adopted American-Indian girl who gets visited by Grandmother.  No one else can see her.  Grandmother tells Natalie that she has 3 months to save him.  Natalie has no idea what this means.  But then she meets Beau, who she has an instant connection with.  He realizes that Natalie can see what he sees, changes in reality such as businesses changing, door colors changing, people disappearing and reappearing.  Beau is from an alternate timeline from Natalie.

This is where I start to get confused. Does Natalie have to save Beau? Or her brother Jack? I still don’t really know what happened at the end of the story.  She sacrifices herself, I think, for Beau- but I’m not sure.  And then the book ends with another story so I don’t know exactly how this story ended.  This is why I only gave it 2 stars.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  I wish the ending was a little clearer.  Maybe its just me, but I just don’t know how the story ended.  Other than that, this was a very well written book.

To whom would you recommend this book? Anyone who likes time travel and story-telling will like this book.  A read-a-likes is “Stone Field” by Christy Lenzi.

Who should buy this book? young adult libraries

Where would you shelve it? young adult fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Laureen Cutrona, Townsend Public Library, Townsend, MA

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

