At the Edge of the Universe – Shaun David Hutchinson


81fhivt-aal      At the Edge of the Universe – Shaun David Hutchinson, Simon Pulse, 9781481449663, 2017

Format: Paperback ARC

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre:  YA Science Fiction

What did you like about the book? Ozzie and Thomas have been best friends since second grade and boyfriends since eighth.  The only problem is, no one but Ozzie remembers Thomas anymore.  Not even Thomas’ mom.  It’s as if Thomas, who has been Ozzie’s whole world for so long, never existed.  Oh yeah, and the universe is shrinking every day.  But only Ozzie notices.  This is a really fantastic YA love and coming-of-age story with a really fun Sci Fi element added that makes it a bit of “What’s going on” and “why is this happening” alongside the romance and friendships of Ozzie and his very diverse High School crew. This is a bit dark, a bit deep, a bit romantic, a bit overly dramatic… and a whole lot of thoughtful fun.  Highly recommended.

Anything you didn’t like about it? It is definitely more YA than Sci Fi despite the “Shrinking Universe” thread running through the entire plot but as long as you don’t go in expecting a really deep sci-fi universe it works well (and there may be enough deep Physics and Theoretical Physics Philosophy talk to keep you interested as well)

To whom would you recommend this book?  This really would be a great Read Next for readers who loved Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

Who should buy this book? Public Libraries, High Schools, Individuals

Where would you shelve it? YA (Sci Fi) Fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: April Duclos, Hudson Public Library, Hudson MA

Date of review: 12/29/16

Advertisements
This entry was posted in *Starred Review, Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s