Glitter – written by Aprilynne Pike


51tdd3h2qcl       Glitter (Glitter Duology #1) – written by Aprilynne Pike, Random House, 9781101933701, 2016

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 1-5 (5 is an excellent or a Starred review4

Genre: Science Fiction

What did you like about the book? In a city out of time and out of sync with the rest of the world, Danica makes a deal that could destroy her for the sake of her freedom. Will she gain it? Will it be worth the price?  Danica is a strong protagonist that is both selfish and loyal at turns of the book, making her a thought-provoking and interesting character, no matter if readers decide to love or hate her. The fashion and fancy of eighteenth century Versailles sets the scene for a unique and well-written story that perfectly fits the tagline of, “Beauty. Blackmail. Betrayal.”  This book keeps a fast pace, leaving readers breathless for the sequel.

Anything you didn’t like about it?  While the premise of the world is wholly original, some explanations are glossed over in order to keep the story moving quickly. This will keep readers glued to the pages, but at the end will open up some questions (perhaps to be explored in book two?).

To whom would you recommend this book?  Fans of Cass’s Selection series, Rutkoski’s The Winner’s trilogy, and Fisher’s Incarceron series.  These reads share a strong female protagonist, court intrigue, and elements of a dystopian world.

Who should buy this book? YA library collections (public and school)

Where would you shelve it ? Young Adult Fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? No.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Melissa McCleary, Pembroke Public Library, Pembroke, MA

Date of reviewNovember 13, 2016

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s