Nanobots – Chris Gall


61uAqrWjIsL  Nanobots – Chris Gall (author, illustrator), Little Brown and Company, 9780316375528, 2016

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 4

Genre: Fiction/Science Fiction

What did you like about the book? The bold colors and animation-style illustrations will appeal to fans of Despicable Me and Pixar. It’s easy to see why Netflix picked up Gall’s earlier Dinotrux. I enjoyed how Gall introduced the idyllic potential of nanotechnology through humorous examples–binobots solving the mystery of who ate the last cookies, chewbots gobbling gum out of the carpet. A plotline involving the young inventor’s attempt to enter the science fair moves the story forward and provides new scope for humor. Because the semi-ridiculous jobs the nanobots complete make it easy to think of the content as pure science fiction, I especially appreciated the fact that Gall includes a short informational page at the end that talks about real-life nano-robotics. Overall, this picture book is both entertaining and informative.

Anything you didn’t like about it? Not a thing.

To whom would you recommend this book? I see this book fitting into the same realm as Jon Scieszka’s Science Verse and Jennifer L. Holm’s Squish series. It has plenty of humor and anthropomorphizes science to make it accessible to a younger audience.

Who should buy this book? This book is ideal for public and school libraries looking for fun ways to introduce STEAM topics.

Where would you shelve it? Nanobots belongs with your picture book collection.

Should we (librarians/readers) put this on the top of our “to read” piles? Yes. For librarians, there is good potential for programming tie-ins. For teachers, it could be used to introduce STEM topics from computer technologies to biology. For kids, it’s just plain fun.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City and State: Andrea Connolly, Jaffrey Public Library, Jaffrey, NH

Date of review: 08/30/2016

This entry was posted in *Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Nanobots – Chris Gall

  1. Pingback: NanoBots by Chris Gall | The Picture Book Review

Comments are closed.