Say What you Will – Cammie McGovern


51UQ1-WjHwL    Say What you Will – Cammie McGovern, HarperTeen, (9780062271105), 2015

Format: Hardcover.

Rating: 1-5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 5

Genre: Realistic, Romance

What did you like about the book?       Amy is a brilliant girl entering her senior year of high school. Due to complications at birth, Amy has cerebral palsy and uses a walker and a computer to speak. Determined to make some friends before graduating and realizing that the presence of an adult aide has hampered her socially, Amy convinces her parents that they should hire some peer aides. One of these aides is Matthew, a boy who has always admired Amy, and is dealing with some obsessive compulsive issues. These two teens, who are each dealing with their own unique problems, become best friends who can share everything with one another. Amy and Matthew’s friendship begins to grow into something more while Amy’s overprotective mother fears it will lead to disaster.   This is a realistic look at two teens dealing with physical and mental disabilities while trying to figure out a future. The characters are fully developed beyond mere stereotypes. Readers will be completely drawn into the story of two teens that push each other beyond expectations. A beautiful coming of age story of first love, loss and friendship.

Anything you didn’t like about it? Nothing

To whom would you recommend this book? This is a perfect novel to hand to readers who love Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park as well as fans of John Green.

Who should buy this book? Public libraries and high school libraries

Where would you shelve it? YA fiction

Should we (librarians/readers) put this at the top of our “to read” piles? Yes!

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

Date of review: 10/18/15

 

This entry was posted in *Book Review, *Starred Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.