The Jade Notebook by Laura Resau


The Jade Notebook by Laura Resau Delacorte Press, 2012

Format: Fiction

Rating: 1-5 (5 is excellent or a Starred review) 4

Genre: Contemporary

What did you like about the book?                 

Zeeta starts a new notebook every time her bohemian mom, Layla, moves them to a new country. They have moved so often that Zeeta has a different notebook for nearly every year of her life. She loves their current home in Mazunte, Mexico and hopes that she and Layla can finally set down roots there. Zeeta particularly likes Mazunte because she suspects that the mysterious father she never met grew up there. As a bonus, there is a nearby turtle sanctuary where her boyfriend, Wendell, has an internship photographing the turtles, although Zeeta and Wendell are troubled to find out that someone is poaching turtle eggs.

Resau deftly describes the exotic location and characters so realistically that readers will feel like they are actually there. This was a very satisfying ending to a series that successfully blends nature, mystery, mysticism, and romance.

What didn’t you like about the book?

To whom would you recommend this book? I would recommend this book to girls who would like to be immersed in an alluring foreign setting.

Read-alike: The Indigo Notebook and The Ruby Notebook, the first two in the series

Who should buy this book? Public libraries’ teen collections, middle school libraries

Where would you shelve it and why? Fiction

Should we (librarians) put this on the top of our “to read” piles?

Yes. Especially if you have been reading the “Notebook” series, this is an enjoyable conclusion.

Reviewer’s Name, Library (or school), City: Mary Melaugh, Marshall Middle School, Billerica, MA

Date of review: 3/16/12

Advertisements

About Sharon Colvin

Sharon Colvin is past chair of the Youth Services Section of MLA and a Youth Librarian in Chelmsford, MA.
This entry was posted in Delacorte, YA Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s